webinar register page

Webinar banner
OASPA Webinar: Open Book Metadata
Time: 3.15 pm – 4.30 pm UTC / GMT
Other timezones: 7.15 am Pacific Time, 9.15 am Central Time, 10.15 am Eastern Time, 12.15 pm Brasilia Time, 4.15 pm Central European Time, 4.15 pm West Africa Time, 5.15 pm South Africa Standard Time, 8.45 pm India Standard Time, 2:15 am Thu Australian Eastern Daylight Time)

OASPA is pleased to announce our next webinar which will focus on open book metadata.

As the open access landscape continues to evolve, its multiple entanglements with open data, open science, and open source infrastructure become increasingly clear. Open metadata are another important element of this picture.

In this OASPA webinar, we intend to shine a light on the question of open metadata with regard to books. This does not only pertain to the question of what “open” means in this context (CC0-licensed as for instance defined by Plan S and Europeana), but also how to ensure the openness and quality of open metadata throughout the value chain, where multiple actors produce, ingest, edit, process, and export metadata in a multitude of formats. What, therefore, are the relations, challenges, and opportunities of thinking and developing open book metadata and open access in terms of labor, quality, persistence, standardization, accessibility, and discoverability?

The webinar will be chaired by Vincent W.J. van Gerven Oei (punctum books) who will also speak about open metadata from the perspective of a scholar-led open access publisher. The panelists will each speak for 6 minutes, and then we will open it up to questions from the audience and have an extended discussion.
Please join us live for this free webinar and contribute to the discussion.

Speakers:
Dominique Babini (CLASCO)
Christina Drummond (OA eBook Usage Data Trust)
Jennifer Kemp (CrossRef/Metadata2020)
Vincent W.J. van Gerven Oei - Chair (punctum books)
Micah Altman (MIT)
Mel Bach (Cambridge University)

Feb 24, 2021 10:15 AM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: OASPA Webinar - Zoom Information.